A Note about Permissions: Part II – Google Calendar

In a previous post, I wrote about the need to be conscious of the viewing permissions we assign to documents on Google. If you haven’t read that – check it out here.

Google is made up of more than just Google Drive (Docs, Sheets and Slide), it also contains calendars, the Google+ social network, Google Sites and much, much more.

Today, I’m going to talk about Google Calendar.

Google Calendar is incredibly powerful! It can help you schedule conferences and call backs with your students, organize meetings, reserve rooms and help you plan out your semester. If you haven’t started to use Google Calendar, now is a great time to start!

When using Calendar, it is important to understand how much information you have public. Calendars can contain information that isn’t necessarily for everyone to view. For example, it’s probably okay to know that someone has a meeting from 8-10am. However, knowing that they have a performance evaluation or  Samantha’s IEP meeting isn’t.

Fortunately setting permissions in Google Calendar is even easier than it is in Google Drive!

Permissions in Google Calendar are applied to the entire calendar – no need to change them event by event.

To check your current settings, log in to Google Calendar by going to http://calendar.google.com and sign in with your Westside Google information (the same as your email address).

After you log in, you should see ‘My Calendars’ on the left hand side. In the list below, you will all of the calendars you have created or have access to.

Mouse over your calendar (in the picture below, ‘Westside’) and click the black triangle. Select ‘Share this Calendar’.

Settings

This screen gives you access to the sharing settings for your calendar.

What you see in the image below is the recommended settings. Of note: The check mark next to sharing this calendar with others, and Share this calendar with everyone in the organization allows people to see when you are Free/Busy. This allows everyone to schedule meetings based around availability – a great feature!

Please check though that it says ‘See Only Free/Busy (Hide Details). If it says ‘See All Details’ then everyone can see everything about your events – something that is unnecessary. Click the dropdown menu to change it, then click ‘Save’.

Recomended Settings

Lastly, if you need specific people to make changes to your calendar, or see the details of your events, you can list them in the space at the bottom. This is handy if you need a secretary to add things to your schedule, or want a spouse/significant other to be able to see/add/change your calendar.

As always, if you have any questions, or would like a “Sharing Checkup”, I’m happy to help.

Thanks!

-Matt